Top Chess Players of All Time (Highest Rating)

Here is the list of top 20 chess players of all time. This list contains chess players on their best, so you will find ratings of chess players when their best ratings were first achieved.

Top 20 Chess Players of All Time

magnus carlsen
Photo Credit:

Magnus Carlsen, Highest Rating 2882 (May 2014)


Photo credit:

Garry Kasparov, Highest Rating 2851 (Jul-1999)


caruana fabiano
Photo Credit:

Fabiano Caruana, Highest Rating 2844(Oct-2014)


lev aronian
Photo credit:

Levon Aronian, Highest Rating 2830 (Mar-2014)


wesely so
Photo credit:

Wesley So, Highest Rating 2822 (Feb-2017)


Photo credit:

Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, Highest Rating 2820 (Sep-2018)

Photo Credit:

Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Highest Rating 2819 (Aug-2016)

Photo credit:

Viswanathan Anand, Highest Rating 2817 (Mar-2011)

Photo credit:

Vladimir Kramnik, Highest Rating 2817 (Oct-2016)


Photo credit:

Veselin Topalov, Highest Rating 2816 (Jul-2015)

Photo credit:

Hikaru Nakamura, Highest Rating 2816 (Oct-2015)

ding liren
Photo credit:

Ding Liren, Highest Rating 2816 (Nov-2018)

Photo credit:

Alexander Grischuk, Highest Rating 2810 (Dec-2014)

Anish Giri
Photo Credit: Alina lĀ“Ami

Anish Giri, Highest Rating 2798 (Oct-2015)

Photo credit:

Teimour Radjabov, Highest Rating 2793 (Nov-2012)

Photo credit:

Alexander Morozevich, Highest Rating 2788 ( Jul-2008)

Photo credit:

Sergey Karjakin, Highest Rating 2788 ( Jul-2011)

Photo credit:

Vassily Ivanchuk, Highest Rating 2787 (Oct-2007)

Photo credit:

Bobby Fischer, Highest Rating 2785 (Apr-1972)

Photo Credit:

Anatoly Karpov, Highest Rating 2780 ( Jul-1994)

  • murrel
    08/06/2021 at 9:59 am

    This list is insulting to Fischer & Karpov. Today’s ratings are inflated. Peak Fischer, Karpov & Kasparov would likely defeat most of the players on this list in any reasonably long match. How much of our knowledge do we owe to those who came before? How much do we owe to computer analysis? Ratings are like house values, they go up all the time. Ask this same question in 10 years and over half of the players name will change and the champion will be the first to eclipse 2900. Check out for a different view.

    • admin
      09/06/2021 at 5:27 pm

      This is the critical comment, Let’s chess player decide if you are right or wrong.

Leave Your Comment

Your email address will not be published.*